Parkland region shut out in Kenney cabinet

Turton, Getson, Smith don't crack cabinet roster

The Parkland region is missing a local face in the United Conservative Party's new cabinet.

22 members were sworn in along with Premier Jason Kenney on Tuesday, with the newly-elected Searle Turton and Shane Getson not on the roster.

Also missing was Drayton Valley-Devon MLA Mark Smith, who had been thought of by many as a leading candidate to be Education Minister.

The former Wildrose education critic saw his chances take a hit during the election, when a sermon he delivered as a Baptist Church minister in 2013 was made public.

It included content that questioned whether abortion and homosexuality could be considered demonstrations of love.

Other members of Kenney's cabinet include former PC Transportation Minister Ric McIver, who's returning to that portfolio.

High profile rookie MLAs include Justice Minister Doug Schweitzer, Health Minister Tyler Shandro, and Energy Minister Sonya Savage.

Meanwhile, Wildrose-turned-UCP MLAs include Jason Nixon as Minister of Environment and Parks, Leela Aheer as Minister of Culture, Multiculturalism, and Status of Women, and Prasad Panda as Minister of Infrastructure.

Of the 19 ministers and three deputy ministers appointed, 12 are from Calgary ridings.

Notable exceptions are Education Minister Adriana LaGrange, Finance Minister Travis Toews, and Municipal Affairs Minister Kaycee Madu.

More from Local News

Social Networks

Recently Played Songs

The One For All Club

Join the exclusive VIP club today!