Horne's political future unclear

Spruce Grove's MLA loses nomination vote in St. Albert

Elections Alberta's redrawing of electoral boundaries for the upcoming election may squeeze out Spruce Grove's incumbent MLA.

Trevor Horne recently lost the NDP's nomination vote in St. Albert, which was won by the riding's current MLA Marie Renaud.

With Spruce Grove and Stony Plain being joined up, St. Albert's second riding was formed with Morinville.

That riding hasn't voted on an NDP nominee yet, though it's set to be contested by Shawna Gawreluck.

She ran federally in the 2017 byelection in Sturgeon River-Parkland, but lost to Conservative Dane Lloyd.

Horne hasn't announced whether he plans to run for the nomination in another constituency.

In Stony Plain-Spruce Grove, current MLA Erin Babcock will run for the NDP nomination on January 10 and 11.

No other candidates have been publicly announced yet.

The only other confirmed candidate in the riding is Searle Turton, who won the United Conservative Party's vote last month.

More from Local News

Social Networks

Recently Played Songs

The One For All Club

Join the exclusive VIP club today!