Dane Lloyd Wins By-Election

Sturgeon River-Parkland MP Dane Lloyd.

The Conservative candidate is the new Member of Parliament for Sturgeon River-Parkland.

The final preliminary results for the by-election are pretty telling: even with a low voter turnout, Sturgeon River-Parkland will continue to be represented by a Conservative MP in Ottawa- and decidedly so.

From the moment polls began reporting after 7:30 PM, Conservative Dane Lloyd had a healthy lead and when polls finished reporting, he finished with 16,125 votes in his favour out of 20,844 ballots cast.  This translates into support of 77.4% which is better than even Rona Ambrose's election victory in October 2015, although there were three times as many voters two years ago.  Lloyd addressed his margin of victory with One News at his election party in Stony Plain last night.

"I think it's indicative of the hard work that my team put it.  Doing the phone calling, doing the door knocking, that's how you when elections," says a victorious Lloyd.  "Rona Ambrose left us a great legacy to run on.  She was an excellent MP who served us honourably and ably.  I'm looking forward to honouring this community and standing up for this community."

Liberal candidate Brian Gold finished second with 2,508 votes, in third was the NDP's SHawna Gawreluck with 1,606 votes and in fourth was Ernest Chauvest of the Christian Heritage Party, who received 605 votes.

To hear the full audio between One News' Mason Ulvestad and Sturgeon River-Parkland MP Dane Lloyd, click play on the file below.

To hear Dane Lloyd's victory speech, click play on the the file below.

The full preliminary results are posted below.



More from Local News

Social Networks

Recently Played Songs

The One For All Club

Join the exclusive VIP club today!